HomeAbout NeboshQualificationsWhere to studyShopFAQs

What does the qualification cover?

The NEBOSH International Diploma (August 2011) is modelled on the NEBOSH National Diploma. The key difference between the two awards is in the applicability of legal requirements. Rather than be guided by a specifically UK framework, the International Diploma takes a risk management approach based on best practice and international standards, such as the International Labour Organisation (ILO) codes of practice, with special reference to model such as the ILO's "Guidelines on Occupational Safety and Health Management Systems" (ILO-OSH 2001). Underpinning knowledge of legal frameworks is included and local laws and cultural factors should form part of the study programme where relevant and appropriate. 

It provides the core health and safety knowledge which, combined with understanding and appropriate application, underpins the competent performance of an Occupational Health and Safety Practitioner.

The qualification is divided into four units, each of which is assessed separately: 

Unit IA: International management of health and safety
Unit IB: International control of hazardous agents in the workplace
Unit IC: International workplace and work equipment safety
Unit ID: International application of health and safety theory and practice 

Students may choose to take individual units in any order over a five year period. 

The syllabus guide can be found here.