The Michael Adamson NEBOSH Diploma Scholarship will support academic and career progression for aspiring health and safety practitioners.

Ten winners – three National (UK) and seven International learners – will be awarded paid-for study and assessment fees for the NEBOSH Diploma for Occupational Health and Safety Management Professionals.

The Diploma and this scholarship is designed to help learners develop the knowledge and practical application they need to succeed in the workplace, advance their careers and keep people safe from harm.

This scholarship is named in memory of Michael Adamson who lost his life in a preventable workplace accident in 2005. His sister Louise is dedicated to sharing Michael’s story and campaigning for better occupational health and safety. Further information about Michael’s story and the work Louise does is available on the Michael's Story website.

How to apply

Applications for the Michael Adamson NEBOSH Diploma Scholarship have now closed.

Judging will take place in June 2022. Applications will be judged anonymously by an expert panel who are:

  • Dee Arp, NEBOSH Chief Operating Officer,
  • Matt Powell-Howard, NEBOSH Head of Product Development,
  • Robert Jukes, HSEQ Manager for Northwood Tissue Lancaster Ltd, NEBOSH Diploma holder and NEBOSH Alumni member,
  • Khansa Burai, HSE Engineer for the Sudanese Electricity Distribution Company, NEBOSH Diploma holder and NEBOSH Alumni member,
  • Louise Adamson, sister of Michael Adamson after whom this scholarship is named.

Our Application Guide includes for information, hints, tips and terms and conditions for the Scholarship. This is important as our winners will be expected to abide by the terms, these include timescales of the studies and a commitment to participate in promotional activities.

Winners will be notified by 10 June 2022 and must acknowledge the prize by 15 June 2022. If you do not acknowledge or accept the prize then NEBOSH reserves the right to offer the scholarship to an alternative applicant. Please refer to our full terms and conditions in the Application Guide.

What our previous winners say

“This is a great opportunity to improve your health and safety competencies. NEBOSH is offering us the chance to create better workplaces in the world, not only in the rich countries but for everyone. All workers in the world have the right accessing to better working conditions – the scholarship can help you to progress your education and help make safer workplaces.”
Tran Duy Thanh Truc, 2021 scholarship winner

Read our full interview with Tran Duy Thanh Truc to hear about her Diploma experience so far.

"Putting myself forward for this opportunity was the best decision of my career so far. I have thoroughly enjoyed studying all the different aspects of the NEBOSH Diploma. I have enjoyed studying a wide variety of different legislation. I’ve particularly enjoyed learning about criminal law and researching different case law’s as it really puts what you’ve learnt into perspective in a real-life situation. I’ve used what I’ve learnt so far to improve aspects of health and safety culture within my organisation. If you’re thinking about applying, go for it!"
Courtney Bayne, 2021 scholarship winner

“It was an amazing feeling and experience to get the NEBOSH Diploma scholarship. This opportunity not only opened the opportunity to enhance my knowledge but also creates a sense of acceptability to my employer and others. Studying the Diploma is a great experience for me as I know the depth and background of health and safety and learn how to promote a health and safety culture more effectively.
“To those who are thinking of taking or enrolling for NEBOSH Diploma, ‘Go for it without any delay. It will not only make you competent but will also help you to perform your job in a more efficient way which will definitely create a sense of satisfaction, not only for yourself but also for your employers and others for whom you are working."
Imtiaz Khan, 2021 scholarship winner

“I had been wanting to undertake the NEBOSH diploma for a while but was never quite sure how I would manage to attain it with the limited funds I had available. When I saw the scholarship opportunity advertised I never dreamt that I would be successful but I applied anyway and I am so thankful that I did. Winning the scholarship has allowed me to enrol immediately and begin the journey that I was struggling to even start and that will hopefully lead to me realising all my Health and Safety ambitions in the not too distant future. Watch this space…”
Chris Brown, 2021 scholarship winner