HomeAbout NeboshQualificationsWhere to studyShopFAQs

How is it assessed?

The qualification is divided into three units, each of which is assessed separately: 

  • Management of International Health and Safety (IGC1)*
  • International Fire Safety and Risk Management (IFC1)
  • Practical Fire Risk Assessment (FC2)

*  Students who have already passed IGC1 or FC2 as part of a previous NEBOSH qualification do not need to re-take them, provided it was achieved within the last 5 years.  If you achieved IGC1 more than 5 years ago or hold the NEBOSH International Diploma, you may re-sit the examination without needing to attend a taught course.

For further details on the content please select "Syllabus Summary" from Related Files.

Units IGC1 and IFC1 are taught units each assessed by one two-hour written examination. Each written examination consists of ten ‘short-answer’ questions and one ‘long-answer’ question. All questions are compulsory. Candidate scripts are marked by external examiners appointed by NEBOSH.

Unit FC2 is assessed by one three-hour fire risk assessment carried out in the candidate's workplace. The assessment is marked by the accredited course provider and externally moderated by NEBOSH. Candidates will be required to complete the FC2 assessment within 10 working days of sitting the examination for units IGC1 and/or FC1.

The Guide can found here.