Update: NEBOSH support for NCRQ learners

Wednesday, 23 November 2022

Following our announcement on 31 October, NEBOSH has finished mapping the AIM/NCRQ qualification against our own NEBOSH National Diploma for Occupational Health and Safety Management Professionals.

This activity has determined shared learning points across the two syllabuses and, for people who would like to switch to a NEBOSH Diploma, where we can recognise their prior learning. As before, we recommend that you refer to AIM Qualifications and Assessments Group for information about your individual situation before making a decision about your continued studies.

Courses and recognition of prior learning

Prospective learners must register with a NEBOSH accredited Learning Partner before being permitted to undertake any NEBOSH courses or assessments.
By recognising prior learning, and where they can evidence their learning, a person may not need to undertake all of a NEBOSH Diploma course. Instead they may be able to complete just some parts of the course, or a bridging course, to prepare them for NEBOSH assessments.

You can download a copy of our Diploma Mapping here: Mapping of the NEBOSH National Diploma and the AIM/NCRQ Diploma in Applied Health and Safety. It shows the level of match between the NEBOSH National Diploma syllabus and the AIM/NCRQ Level 6 Diploma in Applied Health and Safety. The level of match will be either Good, Partial or None.

NEBOSH Learning Partners accredited for the NEBOSH National Diploma have been provided with guidance and a copy of this mapping document. The following Learning Partners have all indicated that they would like to support AIM/NCRQ learners and can work with you to determine your existing level of learning and knowledge, and develop a learning plan to address any gaps in that knowledge in relation to the NEBOSH National Diploma syllabus:

Course fees will vary between Learning Partners and can be dependent on the amount of support required and the mode of study selected e.g., eLearning or classroom based. Please contact an accredited Learning Partner(s) to discuss your individual circumstances and potential costs.


Every learner is required to undertake all NEBOSH National Diploma assessments; we are unable to apply assessment exemptions for anyone who has achieved a unit(s) of any other qualification.
The NEBOSH National Diploma is assessed by three assessments:

  • Unit ND1: Know – workplace health and safety principles
    Workplace assignment
  • Unit ND2: Do – controlling workplace health issues
    Scenario-based case study
  • Unit ND3: Do – controlling workplace safety issues
    Scenario-based case study

Your chosen Learning Partner will work with you to ensure you have undertaken the learning required to prepare for these assessments. They will also undertake the registration process on your behalf. After you have submitted your assessment you will receive your results within 50 working days of the assessment deadline. NEBOSH will issue a certificate for each unit achieved and a qualification parchment, denoting achievement of the full Diploma, upon passing all three units.

Recognising and celebrating successful learners

Successful learners are invited to join us at the annual NEBOSH Graduation and Awards Ceremony where we celebrate the achievements of people who have recently passed their Diploma qualification. Diploma holders are also eligible to join the NEBOSH Alumni, a free-to-join community of fellow Diploma and Masters holders where we offer exclusive events, CPD, resources and networking to support your continued professional development.

The NEBOSH National Diploma is also recognised by the following professional organisations:

  • Board of Canadian Registered Safety Professionals (BCRSP)
  • Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP)
  • Institute of Risk and Safety Management (IIRSM)
  • Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH)*

*Where learners take the qualification in the UK